Moisan Family Constructs Original Building
Early La Mesa settlers, the Moisan family—6 sisters and 2 brothers—owned the land, living in a house on the property and operating the Madame Alice French Salon de Mode. After one sister died suddenly, brother Louis Moisan converted the salon into an apartment and built other apartments on the property.
Carmelite Nuns Acquire the Building
San Diego Bishop Charles F. Buddy purchased the property and invited the Carmelites to operate the home. The new Mission-style building with a chapel was dedicated. Through the 1950’s and 60’s, additional expansion included a new wing, a chaplain’s residence, and a larger chapel.
Little Flower Converted to Senior Housing
Little Flower Haven, the Catholic nonprofit home for the elderly, welcomed its first guests. Operated by the Carmelite Sisters, the facility’s name honored “Little Flower,” St. Therese of Lisieux. In 2015, The La Mesa sisters closed the residence, including the chapel and bell tower, and relocated to Corpus Christi, Texas.
The Haven at La Mesa Reimagines Lifestyle
In 2017, Silvergate Development purchases the property, proposing a plan for the site that incorporates the original building and bell tower. Although completely reimagined, great pains were taken to preserve original elements of the structure to honor the rich history of the property. In 2020, The Haven at La Mesa opens as a brand new apartment community for a new generation of residents.